2022 scholarships.

The 2022 tertiary study scholarships have closed for the 2022 study year.

The tertiary study scholarships awarded four Māori recipients in their second or third year of a general business undergraduate degree $5,000 each towards their study costs for 2022.

Applications for the 2023 study year will open on 31 October 2022.


To be eligible for a Te Waiu O Aotearoa Trust Scholarship applicants must:

  • Be of Māori descent & Iwi registered, and
  • be enrolled at a New Zealand tertiary institute in 2022, and
  • be attending a general business-related degree; and in second or third year of undergraduate study programme, and
  • be attending full-time study for the full year, and
  • preferably be fluent in te Reo Māori (but not required), and
  • meet the criteria for the scholarships applied for, and
  • submit their application form and supporting documentation by midnight Sunday 30 January 2022.

The Trustees will consider the applications according to the following criteria:

  • Leadership at tertiary institute and in the community, and
  • involvement with Iwi, Hapū, Marae and wider Māori community, and
  • life and work experience, and
  • whakapapa with appropriate endorsement, and
  • confirmation of study details.

The opportunity will be given to four Tāne and Wāhine throughout Te Waka-a-Māui (South Island) and Te Ika-a-Māui (North Island).

Key dates.


Applications open.

7 November 2021 - applications opened.

Applications close.

30 January 2022 - Applications closed.

Selections made.

31 January - 14 February 2022 - Applications reviewed by assessor panel, interviews held (if applicable) and selections made.

Application outcomes.

Week of 15 February 2022 - Applicants notified of application outcome (successful and unsuccessful).

Scholarship funds paid.

March 2022 - Scholarship funds paid directly to educational institutes on receipt by the Trust of an appropriate GST invoice for study-related costs.

Application process.

Applicants must submit their application and supporting documentation by email to the Westpac Careers team, careers@westpac.co.nz

Application entries must be received by midnight on Sunday 30 January 2022.

Scholarship recipients.

Te Waiu o Aotearoa Trust is pleased to announce the 2022 scholarship recipients:

Brigham Riwai-Couch
Ngai Tahu, Ngāti Kuia, Ngāti Kahungunu, Rangitāne o Wairau, Ngāti Apa
Bachelor of Communications, University of Canterbury

Metiria-Hinekorangi Doyle
Te Āti Haunui-a-pāpārangi, Te Āti Awa, Ngāti Raukawa ki te tonga, Ngā Rauru, Ngāti Ruanui, Ngāti Rangi
Conjoint Bachelor of Law and Commerce majoring in Finance and minoring in economics, Victoria University

Karlos Croft
Double Bachelor of Business and Communications majoring in Management and journalism, Auckland University of Technology

Manaia Lewis-Wano
Te Arawa, Ngāti Awa, Ngai Tuhoe and Ngāti Kahungunu
Bachelor of Business majoring in Marketing and minoring in Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato.