Te Waiu O Aotearoa Trust Scholarship

carving 1


Te Waiu O Aotearoa Trust was established to promote, develop, and provide for the education and advancement of Māori, within the banking and finance industry, and general business. 

2018 Tertiary Study Scholarships

The 2018 scholarship applications have now closed. You can read more about our past scholarship recipients and how the scholarship has helped them to grow and thrive here on REDnews.


To be eligible for a Te Waiu O Aotearoa Trust Scholarship applicants must:
  • Be of Māori descent & Iwi registered
  • Be over 16 years of age, in last year of secondary school and preferably fluent in te reo Māori
  • Be attending a general business-related degree at a tertiary institution tertiary degree course in the following year (i.e. 2019)
  • Submit an application in writing by Friday 22 September 2018 including:
      • Personal and contact details (including whakapapa)
      •  A short summary of educational history
      •  A short personal statement outlining personal aspirations, reasons for study and projected outcomes including community involvement; and
      • A letter of support from their secondary school.
        Applicants can download this information pack to help with preparing their application.
The Trustees and Assessment Panel will consider the applications according to the following criteria:
  • Leadership at school and in the community
  • Life and work experience
  • Whakapapa with appropriate endorsement; and
  • Confirmation of study details (when the applicant knows).

The scholarships will acknowledge diversity and leadership. The opportunity will be given to four Tane and Wāhine throughout Te Waka-a-Māui – the waka of Māui (South Island) and Te Ika-a-Māui - the fish of Māui (North Island).

You can read about the past scholarship recipients on REDnews.

Key dates
  • 21 August 2018 - Applications open 
  • 22 September 2018 - Applications close
  • 29 September 2018 - Applications reviewed by assessor panel 
  • 6 October 2018 - Interviews held (if applicable) and selections made 
  • November 2018 - Applicants notified of application outcome (successful and unsuccessful) 
  • November 2018 - Successful applicants announced at school end of year awards presentations and listed on Westpac website
  • Early 2019 - Scholarship funds paid directly to educational institutes on receipt by the Trust of an invoice for study-related costs
2017 Recipients

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 tertiary study scholarships:

Name: Johannah Katene-Burge
Secondary SchoolKāpiti College
Iwi AffiliationNgāti Toa Rangatira
Intended area of tertiary study for 2018Bachelors of Management Studies with Honors, University of Waikato

Name: Nikorima Te Iwi Ngaro Nuttall
Secondary School: Ngā Taiātea Wharekura
Iwi Affiliation: Raukawa
Intended area of tertiary study for 2018: Bachelor of Law, Waikato University

Name: Tahua Pihema
Secondary School: Gisborne Girls High School
Iwi Affiliation: Te Aitanga a Mahaki, Ngāti Whātua, Kai Tahu, Te Whānau-ā-Apanui
Intended area of tertiary study for 2018: Conjoint degree in Law and Commerce, Victoria University of Wellington

Name: Maxwell Thompson
Secondary School: Queen Charlotte College
Iwi Affiliation: Te Ātiawa, Ngai Tahu, Rangitāne
Intended area of tertiary study for 2018: Bachelor of Arts majoring in English Literature conjoint with Bachelor of Commerce majoring in Management and Human Resources Management, Victoria University of Wellington