2016 Women of Influence finalists announced

Ryan Boyd
2016 Women of Influence finalists announced

100 influential women have been selected from the hundreds of entries to form the finalists for the 2016 Women of Influence awards.

Presented by Fairfax Media and Westpac, the New Zealand Women of Influence programme aims to identify, recognise and celebrate influential women shaping New Zealand.

With a record number of nominees this year, the panel of highly experienced judges said selecting the top 100 was tough, and determining the category winners and overall winner will be an even more challenging task.

The 2016 Women of Influence category winners and the supreme award winner will be announced at the Awards Dinner at SKYCITY Auckland on Wednesday 12 October.

Registrations for the event are now open here. See below for more key dates.


The 2016 WOI finalists

Arts and Culture

Dr Anna Crighton

Angie Farrow

Nicola Legat

Lizzie Marvelly

Deborah McCormick

Angela Meyer

Anne O'Brien

Kristina Pickford

Anna Pierard

Gaylene Preston

Dr Huhana Smith


Board and ManagementDLA Piper

Michelle Boag

Jolie Hodson

Glenda Hughes

Lisa Jacobs

Candace Kinser

Pauline Lamb

Victoria Maclennan

Parekawhia McLean

Helen Robinson

Teresa Tepania-Ashton

Suzanne Tindal

Renee Walker


Business EnterpriseMYOB

Jennifer Boggiss

Tracey Bridges

Lisa King

Chelsea Millar

Sachie Nomura

Carolyn Oakley-Brown

Fiona Shepherd

Dr Catherine Stone

Carmen Vicelich


Community / Not for Profit

Katerina Bennett

Kaila Colbin

Carla Donson

Marianne Elliott

Jennifer Gill

Shirley Julich

Mawera Karetai

Moira Lawler

Rebecca Lees

Marama Pala

Annah Stretton

Awerangi Tamihere

Sue Van Schreven

Catriona Williams


DiversityCharted Accountants

Sandy Burgham

Allyn Danzeisen

Shelley Huang

Sue Kedgley

Sarah Leberman

Marina Matthews

Neelusha Memon

Mahsa Mohaghegh

Julie Raine

Sue Sheldon


GlobalMassey University

Sally Casswell

Melissa Clark-Reynolds

Kate Corich

Mary Fenwick

Frances Hughes

Rachel Petero

Lyn Provost

Sian Simpson


Innovation and ScienceMasterCard

Rachna Bhasin

Michelle Dickinson

Chris Duggan

Lillian Grace

Anna Guenther

Natasha Lampard

Lisa Miles-Heal

Robyn Phipps


Public Policy

Cath Atkins

Ann Brower

Jo Cribb

Naomi Ferguson

Dr Agneta Fullarton

Nettles Lamont

Aileen Lawrie

Rachael Moore

Tusha Penny

Tracie Shipton



Sharon Barton

Rebecca Keoghan

Dianne Kidd

Natasha King

Chelsea Millar

Mavis Mullins

Sarah Paterson

Bex Warburton

Philippa Wright


Young Leaderhotpoints

Fatumata Bah

Andrea Brewster

Alexia Hilbertidou

Anna Hoek-Sims

Abbe Hyde

Sharndre Kushor

Tammavisa Piumsomboon

Jess Quinn

Loren Skudder-Hill

Kaitlyn White


Key dates

Wednesday 12 October (8.30am-12pm)

Women of Influence Forum at SKYCITY Theatre, Auckland

The theme for the 2016 Forum is ‘Turning ideas into action, investing in yourself’ featuring keynote speakers: Cecilia Robinson - co-founder and CEO of My Food Bag; Dr Lance O’Sullivan - Former NZer of the Year; and Corina Bruce - the first female commanding officer of NZ Navy.

Registrations for the Forum are now open.


Wednesday 12 October (6.15pm-11pm)

Women of Influence Award Winners announced at Awards Dinner at SKYCITY Convention Centre, Auckland

Registrations for the Awards Dinner are now open.