Westpac receives top award for workplace diversity

Westpac receives top award for workplace diversity

Against stiff competition, Westpac NZ has been named Diversity Leader of the Year at the prestigious Deloitte TOP 200 Awards, held in Auckland last night.

Applicants for the diversity award are assessed on the basis of their commitment to promoting diversity and inclusion throughout their business, including on issues beyond gender, as well as their development of innovative solutions to a diversity challenge or opportunity they recognise as business critical.

This year’s finalists included Air New Zealand, Westpac, and ANZ.

SEE ALSO: Attitude Awards: Courage in sport finalists

Westpac GM Human Resources, Gina Dellabarca, accepted the award and says the recognition reflects a true team effort.

“This is a huge honour, and one which recognises the leadership happening at all levels around Westpac to create an inclusive environment that celebrates the unique skills and perspectives that everyone in our team brings to Westpac. I’d also like to especially recognise the contribution our Employee Action Groups (EAGs) have made to supporting our diversity and inclusiveness goals.”

Some particular milestones that we have celebrated this year include our accreditation with the Rainbow Tick (for a second year), our support for the ‘You being You’ movement, rolling out unconscious bias training, becoming the first dementia-friendly bank, the launch of He Ara Ki Te Ao Maori (The pathway to Maori) online resource on Maori culture and customs, and reaching 47% of women in leadership - which is great progress towards our target of 50%.

Go to Deloitte Top 200: Diversity Leadership - Westpac for more around the award.



From left: Westpac's Gina Dellabarca, CEO David McLean, Dawie Olivier, and Mark Weenink with the Diversity Award.


The Deloitte Top 200 Awards

The Deloitte Top 200 Awards were established in 1990 and are held annually to recognise and applaud outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations.

The Top 200 Award winners emerge from the annual listing of the 200 largest corporations based on revenue, and a separate listing of New Zealand’s Top 30 financial enterprises based on asset value.

This year’s 9 categories included:

Company of the year
Executive of the year
Chief financial officer of the year
Chairperson of the year
Most improved performance
Excellence in governance
Best growth strategy
Diversity leadership award
Young executive

SEE ALSO: Attitude Awards: Courage in sport finalists


, ,